1914 Outbreak of first world war delays the implementation of Home Rule legislation.

1915 Military Council of the Irish Republican Brotherhood forms and takes control of planning the Easter Rising.

24 April 1916 The rising begins on Easter Monday. Irish Republicans fight British forces over six days in an attempt to end British rule, but are forced to surrender.

3-12 May 1916 Leaders of the rising are executed by firing squad.

1919 The nationalist movement, Sinn Féin, sets up Dáil Éireann, which proclaims Irish independence.

1920 Government of Ireland Act creates two governments, in Belfast and Dublin.

6 December 1921 The Free State, independent and self-governing, is established by the Anglo-Irish Treaty. Northern Ireland remains part of the United Kingdom.

1922 The treaty is ratified but civil war breaks out between anti-treaty forces and the new Irish government. It lasts until 1923.

1932 Éamon de Valera the only surviving leader of the rising, and his new party, Fianna Fáil, enters government.

1937 Bunreacht na hÉireann, the Irish constitution, is enacted and proclaims Ireland as a sovereign state.