Metro Energy Wins Title

By Kevin Devlin

Pictured – Metro Energy Club, the Gatey CYO cadet house league champions, coached by Chris DiMaggio. The players are: Jake Harrison, Aldo Noury-Ello, Alex Polena, Owen Donovan, Nolan Young, Sam Heller, Ethan Clark, Terry Markos, Mullen (My Man) Byrne and Eddie Tirabassi.  

   On Super Bowl Sunday, February 3, in the McDonough gym at the Walsh Community Center, the Metro Energy Club defeated the Jack McDonough Club, 46-32, to capture the 2019 Gate of Heaven CYO cadet house league championship.  Jake “The Distributor” Harrison was South Boston Today’s MVP.

   The McDonough Club sprinted off to an early 10-2 lead, but Metro Energy countered on the offensive end and went on a 10-2 run of their own. At the half, the Metro Energy Club was clinging to a precarious 17-16 lead. Leading 30-27 midway through the second half, Metro Energy went on a 16-5 run to win the title.    

Jack McDonough Club playoff finalists coached by Bobby McGarrell. The players are: Tommy White, Lydon McGarrell, Nolan Callow, Evan Markos, Robert Wisniewski, Jared Frith, Finbar Kyne and Edward Murray (missing from photo).

   Jake Harrison had another sensational outing netting 22 points. He also had three steals, four assists, and nine rebounds. Owen Donovan played another solid game at point, scoring eight points while hitting a slick in-your-face layup to ignite the offense. Ethan Clark had seven points and Terry Markos contributed five points and had two steals.  

   Jake Harrison, South Boston Today’s MVP, who led Metro Energy to the Gatey CYO cadet house league championship.

   For the Jack McDonough Club, Robert Wisniewski had a tremendous game scoring eighteen points including four three-pointers. Lydon McGarrell had nine points (three treys) and Evan Markos finished the season with four points.

   “I’m proud of my guys for the year they all had,” said Metro Energy coach, Chris DiMaggio. “They worked hard and fought for every point. It also helped that we had one of the best players I’ve seen, that being Jake Harrison, the anchor of this team. He knew exactly when to take over the game and also to get others involved so that in the end it would be a total team effort.” 

Robert Wisniewski who netted 18 points in the cadet house league finale.
Gatey hoop (IAABO) referees Brad Hill and James Donovan.